How Do You Become a Home Inspector in New Mexico?

Are you ready to lay the foundation of your own home inspection business? We’ve created a comprehensive guide to help you cement your new career as a home inspector in New Mexico.

Follow the steps below to learn more about home inspection courses (and why they’re necessary), taking the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE), hands-on site inspections, and where to go from here.

See NM Course Pricing & Packages
Free Home Inspector Webinar


  • Home inspectors must be at least 18 years old.

  1. Complete 80 Hours of a New Mexico-Approved Home Inspection Course

    The New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department mandates that all home inspectors must obtain a license. The first step in obtaining a New Mexico Home Inspector License is completing the required 80-hour New Mexico state-approved home inspection course. Professional home inspection training from a reputable home inspection school is key to understanding common business practices as well as establishing yourself as a trusted expert.

  2. Pass the National Home Inspection Exam

    After completing your home inspector courses, the next step that New Mexico requires is passing the National Home Inspector Exam or a similar qualifying exam. The National Home Inspector Exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions (25 of which are not scored) covering three major domains, or sections, that every home inspector should know. Those domains are:

    • Property and Building Inspection/Site Review
    • Analysis of Findings and Reporting
    • Professional Responsibilities

    Test takers are given 4 hours to complete the exam, and each attempt costs roughly $225 (depending on your location). Due to the unignorable cost of taking the exam, we highly recommend taking an Exam Prep course to greatly increase your chances of passing on the first try. If an individual does not pass, they must wait 30 days before taking the exam again.

  3. Complete 80 Hours in the Field With 30 Parallel Inspections

    The next step in acquiring your New Mexico Home Inspector License is completing the required 80 hours in the field with 30 parallel inspections. This experience provides you with invaluable, real-world, hands-on training that will make your transition into the field seamless.

  4. Complete a National & State Background Check with Fingerprinting

    The New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department requires applicants to submit to a national and statewide background check with fingerprinting. It’s important to note that a criminal record does not necessarily disqualify an applicant from licensure unless they have committed a disqualifying felony.

  5. Provide Proof of E&O Insurance of $250,000 in Aggregate

    Making mistakes is a part of human nature, and it happens to the best of us. All home inspectors in New Mexico must legally purchase an errors and omissions insurance policy with at least $250,000 in coverage.

    Errors and omissions policies for small businesses are roughly $59 per month. To get the best rate and a better idea of what coverage you need, speak with a licensed local insurance agent who has worked with other home inspectors, members of local home inspector trade organizations, or shop for insurers online.

  6. Apply and Pay $250 Application Fee Plus $1,000 3-year License Fee

    The final step is to send in your application with the $250 application fee and the $1,000 3-year license fee. All payments must be made in the form of a cashier’s check or personal check to the New Mexico Home Inspectors Board. Veterans who can prove they’ve been honorably discharged within the last three years are eligible to have their initial application fees waived.

See NM Course Pricing & Packages
Free Home Inspector Webinar

Quick Facts:

  • Complete an 80-hour New Mexico-approved home inspection course
  • Pass the National Home Inspection Exam
  • Complete 80 hours in the field with 30 parallel inspections
  • Complete a background check with fingerprinting (see application on how to do this)
  • Obtain E&O insurance with coverage of at least $250,000
  • Apply and pay associated fees

Want To Learn More?

There’s a reason why over 70,000 students have chosen us. Check out the home inspector online course with AHIT and see for yourself. Most packages include books, videos, exercises, practice questions, a certificate of completion & more!

Request Your Free Catalog & Get Started Today!

Learn more about how to become a home inspector, getting your home inspection certification, and the average home inspector salary.

After signing up, you will occasionally receive newsletters and special offers via email. We will never sell or distribute your email address to any third parties. View our Privacy Policy.

New Mexico Home Inspector License Requirements

Requirements to Become a New Mexico Home Inspector

  • New Mexico home inspection education hours: 80 hours
  • Home inspections required for certification: 80 hours consisting of 30 parallel
  • Exam Required: NHIE
  • Application Fee: $250 plus $1000 for a 3-year license (may be prorated) (other fees
    may apply)
  • Insurance Requirements: E&O insurance of $250,000 in aggregate
  • Notarized application is not required
  • Background check required: state and national
  • Fingerprinting is required

Home Inspection License

  • One – three years for first renewal, every three years thereafter

New Mexico Home Inspector Continuing
Education Requirements

  • 60 hours every three years (six of which must be in ethics); prorated for initial licenses if less
    than a 3-year approval

New Mexico State Licensing Board