REQUIREMENTS TO BECOME A HOME INSPECTOR

The first step is to understand the licensing or certification requirements for your state.

New Jersey Home Inspector License Requirements

Requirements to Become a New Jersey Home Inspector

  • New Jersey home inspection education hours: 180 hours (if 250 inspections are not completed – see below)
  • Inspections: 250 under the direct supervision of a licensed New Jersey inspector (if education is not completed – see above)
  • Exam Required: NHIE
  • Application Fee: $125 (other fees may apply)
  • Insurance Requirements: E&O in the amount of $500,000
  • Notarized application is required
  • Background check may be required by state
  • Fingerprinting is not required
  • High School Diploma or GED required

Home Inspection License Expiration: Every two years

New Jersey Home Inspector Continuing Education Requirements

  • 40 hours every two years

New Jersey State Licensing Board

Next Step – Learn more about AHIT home inspection Professional Development training options in New Jersey

How to Become a Home Inspector 

FREE Webinar. Register today.

View Dates