DIFFERENT STATE REQUIREMENTS, SAME AHIT QUALITY

Before you turn on your “Open for Business” sign, there are a few important things to know. Like some states have licensing requirements or are regulated, while other states don’t have many—if any—requirements for home inspectors.

AHIT is part of the Mbition family. AHIT courses are available for purchase online at
OnCourseLearning.com by clicking on your state below or by simply calling 877-204-0696 to enroll by phone.

SELECT YOUR STATE FOR HOME INSPECTOR LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

The next steps to obtain your license in Alabama are listed below.

  1. Have proof of qualifications in ONE of the following categories.
    • Category A – Professional Membership in one of the following:
      • Inspection Depot
      • Advantage Systems ASP, LLC
      • Inspection Technology Institute
      • International Society of Home Inspectors
      • American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI)
      • Housing Inspection Foundation (HIF)
      • Home Inspection Institute
      • National Institute of Building Inspectors (NIBI)
      • American Inspectors Society
      • Home Inspection Institute of America

      Category B – Certification or Approval by one of the following

      • International Code Congress
      • U.S. Veterans Administration
      • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
      • Council of American Engineering Officials

      Category C – Alabama Licensure on or after 1/1/1998 for one of the following:

      • General Contractor
      • Professional Architect
      • Registered Professional Engineer
      • Residential Home Builder

      Category D – Education and Work Experience

      • High school diploma or GED plus one of year experience as a home inspector with 100 paid inspections.
  2. Pass the ASHI Standards and Ethics Examination.
  3. Pass the National Home Inspectors Examination.
  4. Obtain E&O insurance of $250,000 per occurrence.
  5. Obtain General Liability insurance $20,000 property damage, $50,000 personal injury or death and $100,000 injury or death to more than one person.
  6. Register with the Alabama Building Commission:

Alabama Building Commission
Home Inspectors Registration Section
PO Box 301150
Montgomery, AL 36130
https://bc.alabama.gov
334-242-4082

The next steps to obtain your license in Alaska are listed below:

  1. Pass one of the exams as required by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. The exam(s) that you are required to take are based upon which specific home inspection licensure you seek – New Homes, Joint, or Existing Only. Please visit https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/hin2030.pdf for more information regarding which exam(s) you need to take.
  2. Obtain a Surety Bond in the amount of $10,000 and Liability Insurance in the following amounts: $20,000 property damage, $50,000 injury or death to one person, $100,000 injury or death to more than one person. Please see page two of the application for more information.
  3. Contact the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing to obtain a home inspector license application packet and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. Submit an application for registration within one year of completing the exam. You can download an application from: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/HomeInspectors/ApplicationsForms.aspx

Remember: Alaska licensed home inspectors must complete 8 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Alaska Home Inspector Licensure Board
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99801-1770
Phone: (907) 465-2550
Fax: (907) 465-2974
Website: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/HomeInspectors.aspx

The next steps to obtain your license in Arizona are listed below:

  1. Take the National Home Inspector Examination. To schedule your National Examination, contact PSI Exams Online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in. The cost of the exam is $225.
  2. Complete 30 parallel inspections with a licensed home inspector.
  3. Obtain E & O insurance in the amount of $200,000 in aggregate and $100,000 per occurrence.
  4. Complete the Application for Home Inspector Certification: https://btr.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/Home%20Inspector%20Certification%20Application%20Fillable.pdf. This includes submission of fingerprints. The total application fee with fingerprints is $142.

Full directions can be found here: https://btr.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/Home%20Inspector%20Instructions_1.pdf.

Arizona Board of Technical Registration
1110 W. Washington Street, Suite 240
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 364-4930
Fax: (602) 364-4931
Website: btr.az.gov

The next steps to obtain your license in Arkansas are listed below:

  1. Take the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams.To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. (Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.)
  2. Take the ASHI Standards and Ethics Exam. To schedule your examination please contact ASHI www.ashi.com/inspectors/ethics.asp.
  3. Obtain $100,000 in general liability insurance.
  4. Contact the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board to obtain a home inspector license application packet and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. One of the original certificates you receive must be submitted to the state with your application.

Arkansas Home Inspectors Board
1515 W 7th St, Ste 305
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501.683.3710
Fax: 501.683-0823
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.ahib.org

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

  • ASHI – American Association of Home Inspectors www.ashi.org
  • InterNACHI – National Association of Certified Home Inspectors www.internachi.org
  • CREIA – California Real Estate Inspection Association www.creia.org

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Connecticut are listed below:

  1. Have earned a Home Inspector Intern Permit, performed at least 100 home inspections under the supervision of a licensed Home Inspector, and you have passed a written exam administered by the Department. In lieu of the State specific customized Home Inspector Exam for Connecticut, you may select the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE), developed by the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors. Passing either exam shall be sufficient to continue the licensing process. If you have passed the National Home Inspector Examination, please include the passing score report with your application. For more information on the requirements for obtaining a Home Inspector License and the written exam, please visit: https://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=446462.
  2. Contact the Department of Consumer Protection to obtain a Home Inspector License application packet and a list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can also download the application from: https://www.ct.gov/dcp/lib/dcp/occ.pro/app-hoi-hop.pdf.

Please note: There is a $290 application fee that must be submitted with the notarized application.

Remember: Connecticut licensed home inspectors must complete 20 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection,
License Services Division
165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: (860) 713-6135
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.ct.gov/dcp

The next steps to obtain your license in Delaware are listed below:

  1. Before applying for Delaware licensure as a Home Inspector by examination you must register as a Home Inspector Trainee and complete the required inspections. At least 75 supervised home inspections are required for Delaware Home Inspector licensure. You may start accumulating the required inspections after your trainee registration is issued. You and your supervising Home Inspector(s) must maintain records of your home inspections on the Experience Log. The Log will be required when you apply for Home Inspector licensure by examination. If you hold a current Home Inspector license in another jurisdiction, apply by endorsement.

Please visit https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/homeinspector/experience.shtml for more information on licensure requirements by examination or https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/homeinspector/endorsement.shtml for more information on licensure by endorsement.

  1. Obtain at least $50,000 of Errors and Omissions Insurance and at least $250,000 in Liability Insurance.
  2. Contact the Division of Professional Regulation to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download an application from: https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/homeinspector/forms.shtml.

Please note: There is a $273 processing fee that must be submitted with the notarized application.

Remember: Delaware licensed home inspectors must complete 40 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Delaware Division of Professional Regulation
Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Blvd, Suite 203
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: (302) 744-4500
Fax: (302) 739-2711
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/homeinspector/index.shtml

The next steps to obtain your license in Florida are listed below.

  1. Take one of four approved examinations:
    1. The National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE). Contact Person VUE at 1-888-204-6230 or www.pearsonvue.com.
    2. Florida Association of Building Inspectors (FABI). Go to www.fabi.org.
    3. InterNACHI Florida Home Inspector Licensing Examination. Go to www.nachi.org/florida-licensing-home-inspector-exam.htm.
    4. Association of Construction Industry’s Certified Home & Property Inspector Examination (CI-HPI). Go to https://testing.cicertified.com/.
  2. Obtain $300,000.00 general liability insurance coverage.
  3. Submit an application. Information required for the pre-licensing course information section on the application are listed on your certificate from AHIT. The application includes the completion of a background check with fingerprints. The cost of the application is $230. You can download an application here: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pro/homein/documents/HI0401_Application_for_Licensure.pdf
    1. Course and provider approval numbers can be found on our completion certificate.

Remember: Florida licensed home inspectors must complete 14 hours of continuing education prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Florida Division of Professions, Home Inspectors Licensing Program
1940 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32339-0783
Phone: (850) 487-1395
Fax: (850) 488-8748
Website: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/home-inspectors/

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Illinois are listed below:

  1. Take the Illinois Home Inspector License Exam. To schedule your exam, contact Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) at 800.345.6559 or www.goamp.com. The examination fee is $125. Use school ID number 520103.
  2. Submit an application. Once you pass the exam, you will receive the license application materials. Follow the directions on the application and submit.

Remember: Illinois licensed home inspectors must complete 12 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Illinois Division of Real Estate Professionals, Home Inspection Section
320 West Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62786
Phone: (800) 560-4620
Website: https://www.idfpr.com/profs/Homeinspect.asp

The next steps to obtain your license in Indiana are listed below:

  1. Take the National Home Inspector Examination. To schedule your National Examination, contact PSI Exams Online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.
  2. Obtain $100,000.00 general liability insurance coverage.
  3. Submit an application. Information required for the pre-licensing course information section on the application are listed on your certificate from AHIT. The application includes submission of a passport-size photograph taken within 8 weeks of application. Applicants need to report any criminal activity. The cost for the application is $50. Complete rules are here: https://www.in.gov/pla/3699.htm.

Remember: Indiana licensed home inspectors must complete 32 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Indiana Home Inspector Licensure Board
402 W. Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Phone: (317) 234-3009
Fax: (317) 233-4236
Website: https://www.in.gov/pla/hi.htm

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Kentucky are listed below:

  1. Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams
    To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. (Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.)
  2. Obtain $250,000.00 general liability insurance coverage.
  3. Complete the Initial Licensure Application. This includes a passport-quality 2”x2” color photo, a certificate of insurance, a completed Kentucky State Police background check, a National Criminal Investigation check, and a copy of a completed home inspection. The cost for the application is $250. https://www.bhi.ky.gov/Applications%20and%20Forms/Application%20for%20License.pdf

Please Note: The second page of the Home Inspector Application requests the following information:

  1. Name of Course Provider: American Home Inspectors Training
  2. Provider Number: KBHI P-1010
  3. Date Completed: 3/22/19
  4. Location: Lexington, KY
  5. Number of classroom hours: 49
  6. Number of in-field hours: 16
  7. Test Score: 81%

Remember: Kentucky licensed home inspectors must complete up to 28 hours of continuing education. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors
911 Leawood Drive
Frankfurt, KY 40601
Phone: 502.782.8816
Fax: 502.696.3842
Website: bhi.ky.gov

The next steps to obtain your license in Louisiana are listed below:

  1. Complete a minimum of 90 hours of classroom education and you must pass the National Home Inspectors Examination given by the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors. You also must complete 30 hours of pre-licensing training and 10 live inspections with an approved in-field trainer. You must also attend a Report Writing Seminar, given by LSBHI. Please visit https://lsbhi.state.la.us/licensed.php for more information.
  2. Obtain a minimum of $300,000 in both E&O and General Liability Coverage.
  3. Contact the Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You may also download an application from: https://lsbhi.state.la.us/documents/application_for_licensure.pdf.

Please note: there is a $200 application fee that must be sent in with the notarized application.

Remember: Louisiana licensed home inspectors must complete 20 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors
5211 Essen Lane, Suite 9
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Phone: (225) 248-1334
Fax: (225) 248-1335
Website: https://lsbhi.state.la.us/index.php

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Maryland are listed below:

  1. Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams
    To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. (Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.)
  2. Complete a preliminary application found at: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/forms/homeinspectorapp.pdf. The cost for the initial application is $50.

Upon acceptance of the preliminary application, you must:

  1. Obtain $150,000.00 general liability insurance coverage.
  2. Complete a second application. The cost of the license is $350.

Remember: Maryland licensed home inspectors must complete at least 30 hours of continuing education hours for each 2-year registration term. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Maryland Commission of Real Estate Appraisers and Home Inspectors
500 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, MD 21202-3651
Phone: 410.230.6363
Fax: 410.333.6314
Website: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/reahi/
Email: [email protected]

The next steps to obtain your associate license in Massachusetts are listed below:

  1. Take the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams.
    To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. (Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.)
  2. Complete 25 home inspections under direct supervision of a licensed home inspector. These must be listed on your application, on the Home Inspection Supervision Verification portion.
  3. Obtain $250,000 in E/O insurance.
  4. Contact the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Home Inspectors to obtain an Application for an Associate Home Inspector License and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. The 75-hour course certificate you receive must be submitted to the state with your application. https://www.mass.gov/home-inspector-licensing

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Home Inspectors
1000 Washington Street, 7th Floor
Boston, MA 02118-6100
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-of-home-inspectors-0
Phone: 617-727-4459
Fax: 617-727-1627
Email: [email protected]

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Mississippi are listed below:

  1. Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams
    To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.
  2. Obtain $250,000.00/occurrence E & O insurance coverage and $250,000/occurrence general liability insurance.
  3. Contact the Home Inspector Board to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download an application from: https://www.mrec.state.ms.us/docs/mhib_forms_application_for_licensure.pdf.

Please note: There is a $175 application fee and a $325 licensing fee that must be submitted with the notarized application. You are also required to attach two photographs of yourself.

Remember: Mississippi licensed home inspectors must complete 20 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Mississippi Home Inspector Board
Lefleur’s Bluff Tower, Suite 300
4780 I-55 North, Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: (601) 321-6970
Fax: (601) 321-6955
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.mrec.state.ms.us/mhib/index_mhib.html

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in New Hampshire are listed below:

  1. Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams
    To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.
  2. Obtain Liability Insurance in the amount of at least $100,000.
  3. Contact the Board of Home Inspectors to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download an application from: https://www.nh.gov/jtboard/hi.pdf

Please note: There is a $200 application fee.

Remember: New Hampshire licensed home inspectors must complete 20 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

New Hampshire Board of Home Inspectors
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-2219
Fax: 603-271-6990
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.nh.gov/jtboard/homeinspectors.htm

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business. https://nmlegis.gov/Sessions/19%20Regular/final/HB0433.pdf

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

  1. ASHI – American Association of Home Inspectors www.ashi.org
  2. InterNACHI – National Association of Certified Home Inspectors www.internachi.org

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

Students who have completed Modules 1 – 4 only must:

  1. Complete 40 hours of unpaid field-based inspection in the presence and under the direct supervision of New York licensed home inspector or New York regulated professional engineer or architect. This can be completed through AHIT with our NY licensed inspector instructor; OR
  2. Have performed not less than one hundred home inspections in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a home inspector licensed by the state of New York or a professional engineer or architect regulated by the state of New York who oversees and takes full responsibility for the inspection and any report provided to a client; AND
  3. Pass the NY exam, obtain insurance, and complete application (details below).

Students who have completed Modules 1-5 must:

  1. Pass the written New York State Examination. The cost for the exam is $50.
  2. Obtain General Insurance in the minimum amount of $150,000 per occurrence and $500,000 in aggregate.
  3. Obtain a home inspector license application. The original application fee is $250.

Information regarding the examination and license application can be found here: https://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/homeinspect/hinspector.html.

Remember: New York licensed home inspectors must complete 24 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

New York Division of Licensing Services
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001
Phone: 518.474.4429
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/homeinspect/hinspector.html

The next steps to obtain your license in North Carolina are listed below:

  1. Submit a license application online.* This includes a photograph and 3 character references. This also may include a criminal background check and/or fingerprinting. The cost for the application is $35.
  2. Pass the State Examination within one year of applying for exam. The cost for the exam is $80.
  3. Provide the licensing board with proof of general liability insurance in the amount of $250,000. The cost of the issuance fee is $160.
  4. Provide proof of one of the following:
    • Minimum net assets between five thousand dollars ($5,000) and ten thousand dollars ($10,000).
    • A bond between five thousand dollars ($5,000) and ten thousand dollars ($10,000)
    • Errors and omissions insurance in the amount of two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000), which insurance may be individual coverage or coverage under an employer policy, with coverage parameters established by the Board.

Remember: North Carolina licensed home inspectors must complete 12 to 20 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

North Carolina Home Inspector Licensure Board
Phone: 919.647.6000
Fax: 919.715.0063
Website: https://www.ncdoi.com/OSFM/Engineering_and_Codes/HILB.aspx

* The entire application process is conducted online.

The next steps to obtain your license in North Dakota are listed below:

  1. Pass one of the following exams:
    1. American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI)
    2. National Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI)
    3. Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors (EBPHI)
    4. International Code Council (ICC)
  2. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance in the amount of at least $100,000.
  3. Contact the Board of Home Inspectors to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download an application from: https://www.nd.gov/eforms/doc/sfn54381.pdf.

Please note: There is a $200 registration fee.

North Dakota Secretary of State
Licensing Division
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108
Bismarck ND 58505-0500
Phone: (701) 328-2900
Fax: (701) 328-1690
Website: www.nd.gov/sos

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Oklahoma are listed below:

  1. Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.
  2. Obtain a $5,000 corporate surety bond $50,000 in general liability insurance.
  3. Contact the Construction Industries Board- Home Inspection Division to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download an application from: https://www.ok.gov/cib/documents/Home%20Inspector%20license%20Application.pdf.

Please note: There is a $280 license and application fee to be submitted with the notarized application.

Remember: Oklahoma licensed home inspectors must complete 8 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Construction Industries Board
Home Inspection Division
2401 NW 23rd, Suite 2F
Oklahoma City, OK 73107-2431
Phone: 405-521-6550
Fax: 405-521-6525
Website: https://www.ok.gov/cib/

The next steps to obtain your license in Oregon are listed below:

  1. Take the National Home Inspector Examination. To schedule your National Examination, contact PSI Exams Online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in. The cost of the exam is $225.
  2. Submit an application. The cost for a two-year license is $150. See the Home Inspector Application Packet: www.oregon.gov/CCB/Documents/pdf/HIC%20Application%20100115.pdf.

Remember: Oregon licensed home inspectors must complete 30 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
201 High St. SE, Suite 600
Salem, Oregon 97301
Phone: (503) 378-4621
Fax: (503) 373-2007
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.oregon.gov/CCB/licensing/Pages/home-inspectors.aspx

Although home inspectors are not currently licensed in Pennsylvania, they are regulated. The next steps to becoming a home inspector in Pennsylvania are listed below:

  1. Become a FULL member of a national home inspection association which includes:
    1. The performance of or participation in at least 100 home inspections
    2. Passing a recognized or accredited home inspection exam (i.e., NHIE)
      1. The National Home Inspector Examination is provided by PSI Exams. To schedule your exam, please visit PSI Exams at www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.
  1. Obtain errors and omissions and general liability insurance with coverage of not less than $100,000 per occurrence and $500,000 in the aggregate.

Pennsylvania Bureau of Consumer Protection
Office of the Attorney General
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: (717) 787-9707
Fax: (717)-787-1190
Website: https://www.attorneygeneral.gov/public-protection-division/
Law: https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/LI/consCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&ttl=68&div=0&chpt=75

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in South Carolina are listed below:

  1. Pass an examination.
    1. The National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams.
      To schedule your National Examination, contact PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in. Cost is $225.
      OR
    1. The South Carolina Home Inspector exam provided by PSI Exams. To schedule the state exam, contact PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the state that you reside in from the list, not the National Home Inspectors Exam. Cost is $75.
  1. Contact the South Carolina Residential Builders Commission to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download an application from: https://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/ResidentialBuilders/PDF/Home%20Inspector%20Application.pdf.

Please note: There is an $80 application fee to be submitted with the notarized application.

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
South Carolina Residential Builders Commission
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, SC 29210
Phone: 803-896-4696
Fax: 803-896-4814
Website: https://www.llronline.com/POL/ResidentialBuilders/

The next steps to obtain your license in South Dakota are listed below:

  1. After you complete the required prerequisite education, visit the Applied Measurement Professional website, www.goamp.com, see the “candidates” section and print the Candidate Handbook for the South Dakota home inspector exam. The handbook will give you instructions for registering for the home inspector exam. The exam is computerized and can be taken at sites in Rapid City and Sioux Falls.
  2. Contact the Real Estate Division to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download an application from: https://www.state.sd.us/eforms/secure/eforms/E1279v1-HomeInspectorApplication.pdf. The application must be filed within 60 days after passing the examination.

Please note: There is a $200 application fee that must be submitted with the notarized application.

Remember: South Dakota licensed home inspectors must complete 24 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

South Dakota Real Estate Division
221 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 101
Pierre, South Dakota 57501
Phone: 605-773-3600
Fax: 605-773-4356
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://dlr.sd.gov/bdcomm/realestate/home_inspection.aspx

The next steps to obtain your license in Tennessee are listed below:

  1. Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.
  2. Obtain General Liability Insurance of at least $500,000 and Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance to cover all home inspection activities. (No specific amount for E&O insurance is provided by the state.)
  3. Contact the Department of Commerce and Insurance – Home Inspector Licensing Program, to obtain a home inspector license application and list of documents you will need to submit to the board. You can download info here: https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/commerce/documents/regboards/hic/forms/HomeInspectorApplicationRequirements.pdf. The application can only be completed online.

Please note: There is a $300 application fee.

Remember: Tennessee licensed home inspectors must complete 32 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Department of Commerce and Insurance
Home Inspector Licensing Program
500 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37243-0565
Phone: 615-741-1831
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/homeinsp.html

The next steps to obtain your license in Texas are listed below.

  1. Submit the Professional Inspector License Application found on TREC’s website. The application fee is $120. Additional fees vary. You can download the application here: https://www.trec.texas.gov/pdf/forms/insp/REPIA-6.pdf.
  2. Pass an examination. Information will be provided once the application has been accepted.
  3. Obtain professional liability insurance in the amount of at least $100,000 per occurrence and a minimum total annual aggregate of $100,000.

Remember: Texas professional inspectors must complete 32 hours of continuing education biennially prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188
Austin, TX 78711-2188
Phone: (512) 936-3000
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.trec.texas.gov

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business.

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Vermont are listed below:

  1. Take the National Home Inspector Examination. To schedule your National Examination, contact PSI Exams Online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in. The cost of the exam is $225.
  2. Submit an application. The cost for a two-year license is $100. See the Application Instructions for Licensure as a Property Inspector here: https://www.sec.state.vt.us/media/808214/application-instructions-property-inspectors-2016.pdf.

Vermont Office of Professional Regulation
89 Main St. 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
Phone: (802) 828- 2390
Website: https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-of-professions/property-inspectors.aspx

The next steps to obtain your license in Virginia are listed below:

  1. 25 home inspections under the direct supervision of a Virginia licensed home inspector.
  2. Take the National Home Inspector Examination. To schedule your National Examination, contact PSI Exams Online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in. The cost for the exam is $225.
  3. Obtain $250,000.00 general liability insurance coverage.
  4. Apply for licensure. Visit the Virginia Board of Asbestos, Lead and Home Inspectors (https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/ALHI/) for the most recent application form.

Remember: Virginia professional home inspectors must complete 16 continuing education hours prior to certification renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors
9960 Maryland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond VA 23233-1485
Phone: (804) 367-8595
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/ALHI/

The next steps to obtain your license in Washington are listed below:

  1. Complete 40 hours of field training with a licensed inspector. This can be done through AHIT with our WA licensed inspector instructor.
  2. Pass the written Washington State Examination. You can download the exam application at https://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/625002.pdf. The cost for the exam is $300.
  3. Obtain a home inspector license application. You can download an application at https://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/625003.pdf. The original application fee is $680.

Remember: Washington licensed home inspectors must complete 24 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Washington Home Inspector Licensing Board
2000 4th Ave W
2nd Floor
Olympia, WA 98502
Phone: 360.664.6487
Fax: 360.586.0998
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/homeinspectors/index.html.

The state you reside in does not currently license home inspectors, but that does not mean they will not in the future. Please keep current on home inspector legislation in your area and check with your city and county for regulations regarding your new business. https://nmlegis.gov/Sessions/19%20Regular/final/HB0433.pdf

Some non-profit organizations you can join are:

  1. ASHI – American Association of Home Inspectors www.ashi.org
  2. InterNACHI – National Association of Certified Home Inspectors www.internachi.org

Remember: Continuing education can maximize your service offerings and increase your knowledge in the field of home inspections. In addition, completion of continuing education credits may be a requirement for membership in a non-profit home inspection organization. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs.

The next steps to obtain your license in Wisconsin are listed below:

  1. Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by PSI Exams
    To schedule your National Examination please PSI Exams online at 800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com. When you access this website, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies. (Select the National Home Inspectors Exam from the list, not the state that you reside in.)
  2. Apply for your home inspector license and to take the WI specific exam. You can download an application here: https://dsps.wi.gov/Licenses-Permits/HomeInspector/HINSlicense. There is a $150 credentialing and state exam fee.
  3. When this application is processed, you will be assigned an exam username, password, and ID number for the WI specific exam. Please note that you must achieve a minimum score of 85% on this exam.

Remember: Wisconsin licensed home inspectors must complete 40 continuing education hours prior to license renewal. Visit ahit.com for your continuing education needs!

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: (608) 266-2112
Fax: (608) 261-7083
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/HomeInspector/Default.aspx

BAck To Top

Customer Testimonials

  • R. Smith

    Coming into class I inspected 5,000 to 7,000 houses as an insurance adjuster and real estate appraiser. The past week’s education and textbooks has doubled or tripled my knowledge. The marketing session will make it happen!

  • B. Kraft

    Thank you for the continued support. It is nice to know I can count on you all when I need my questions answered.

  • B. Hardy

    Thank you for an outstanding week of professional training. I can’t imagine anyone ever thinking of going into this business without attending your school.