state capital

Rhode Island State Home Inspector Regulations

(THIS BILL HAS BEEN DELAYED DUE TO FUNDING)

Legislation: Home Inspectors' Licensing Law (Title 5-65-1)
Governing Body: Building Code Commission Contractors' Registration Board
Insurance: A Licensed Rhode Island Home inspector must hold errors and omissions insurance and a general liability policy that total a minimum of $250,000.

Qualifications to Become an ASSOCIATE Home Inspector

Education

a)High school or equivalent

Experience

a)Have assisted in no less than 50 home inspections in the presence of a licensed home inspector

Testing

a)Have passed an examination approved or administered by the board

Qualifications to Become a LICENSED Home Inspector

Education

a) Successfully completed high school or equivalent

Experience

a) Have been engaged as an Associate Home Inspector for no less than one year and have performed not less than 100 paid inspections OR been registered/licensed contractor in good standing in any state for an aggregate of at least 5 years

Testing

a) Have passed an examination approved or administered by the board

 
 

Training Provider:

American Home Inspectors Training Institute
Website: www.ahit.com
Phone: 800-441-9411
Email: questions@ahit.com

 


Last updated: 8/1/14