state capital

Oregon State Home Inspector Regulations

Legislation: HB2075
Governing Body: Oregon Construction Contractors Board
Contact Info:
Construction Contractors Board

Designations: Oregon Certified Home Inspector

Miscellaneous a) Oregon home inspectors may not perform repairs on a residence they have inspected within the past 12 months.

Qualifications for Becoming a Certified Home Inspector

I. Apply to the CCB to qualify for and take the certification test

Qualifications to take the exam:

a) You must obtain 20 “points” before taking the exam. Points can be earned via education and experience.

a) After you pass all five sections of the Certification Exam, the Home Inspector Certification application will be sent to you. 

a) You must either be the owner or an employee of a CCB-licensed business to practice home inspections
CCB licensing includes:

  • 16-hour education course on Oregon laws and business practices
  • State issued test on 16-hour course
  • Surety bond
  • Liability Insurance
  • Must be licensed in one of the General, Specialty or Inspector categories; any category except Limited
  • Corporation, LLC or DBA filed


Training Provider:

American Home Inspectors Training Institute
Phone: 800-441-9411


Last updated: 8/1/14